Gluten Reduced Beers
All of our commercially produced beer has been dosed with a product known as Clarity ferm. Clarity ferm contains an enzyme which specifically targets and reduces the gluten found in barley and wheat based beer. A beer correctly treated with this enzyme will contain less than 10 ppm of gluten, which is below the threshold of most celiacs. That being said, some individuals may react to the hydrolyzed or ‘chopped up’ gluten protein, which remain after fermentation.
Our beer is not ‘gluten free’. A gluten free product contains no ingredient which has contained gluten. Our beer is crafted to reduce gluten, but the beer does contain trace amounts gluten and modern tests that are now available are not reliable enough to measure the impact of hydrolyzed gluten.
For further reading, please check out the following sources.